The Four Corners of Law

The intersection of Meeting Street and Broad Street in Charleston is often referred to as “The Four Corners of Law.” The four buildings at this intersection represent ecclesiastical, federal, state, and local law. Clockwise from left, the buildings are St. Michael’s Episcopal Church, the United States Post Office and Courthouse, the Charleston County Courthouse, and the Charleston City Hall.

This is the most memorable intersection from our trip to Charleston, and still functions to represent the many branches of law in our country today.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.